NCUC Form CE-1 (Revised April 2018)

BEFORE THE NORTH CAROLINA UTILITIES COMMISSION
RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA

<APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION
TO TRANSPORT HOUSEHOLD GOODS»

Docket No.

NOTE: Instructions for the completion and submission of this Application are included
herewith as an “Appendix.” You should read the Instructions carefully before proceeding.

APPLICATION OF:

Legal Name of Business (hereafter the “Applicant”) Telephone Number
Physical Address Street City State Zip
Mailing Address Street or Post Office Box City State Zip
Email

The above-named Applicant has read the Instructions for this Application and, having done
so, does hereby apply for a certificate of exemption pursuant to N.C.G.S. 62-261(8) to transport
household goods by motor vehicle for compensation within North Carolina; and to that end shows:

1. That the Applicant will be the sole owner and in control of the transportation business
proposed herein; that said Applicant is: ( ) a sole proprietorship; ( ) a partnership; ( ) an LLC; or
( ) a corporation incorporated under the laws of the State of ; and

that the names and addresses of the Applicant’s principals are as follows: [Principals are: the sole
proprietor for a sole proprietorship; partners for a partnership; directors and officers for a corporation;
or member-managers and nonmember-managers for an LLC.]

2. That the Applicant holds Federal authority in Certificate No.
(Complete only if applicable.)




3. That the Applicant has read and understands the following terms and conditions and
certifies that Applicant has met or will meet such requirements prior to being issued a certificate of
exemption. Indicate agreement by inserting a checkmark (v").

() Applicant is fit, willing, and able to properly perform the service of household goods
transportation within North Carolina, is familiar with the moving industry, has a reasonable and
adequate knowledge of the rules and regulations governing the moving industry, including safety
requirements as enforced by the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), and has
knowledge of and will abide by the tariff requirements as established by the Commission in Maximum
Rate Tariff No. 1.

() Applicant is financially solvent and able to furnish adequate service on a continuing
basis by maintaining the required insurance protection and safe, dependable equipment and being
able to settle any damage claims which may arise.

() Applicant will maintain and has filed, or will soon file, with the DMV (or the Commission)
the following minimum limits of liability and cargo insurance coverage:

(a) Liability insurance coverage — Form E: $100,000/$300,000/$50,000 for Gross Vehicle
Weight (GVW) of 26,000 Ibs. or less and $750,000 for GVW of more than 26,000 Ibs.

(b) Cargo insurance coverage — Form H: $35,000/$50,000 — i.e., $35,000 for loss of or
damage to household goods carried on any one motor vehicle and $50,000 for loss of or
damage to household goods occurring at any one time and place.

If Forms E and H are not on file with the DMV, Applicant will provide such forms to the Office of
the Chief Clerk of the Commission.

In addition to the foregoing, Applicant will also maintain general liability insurance coverage in
an amount not less than $50,000 to compensate for loss or damage, to property of shipper or
consignee, not otherwise covered under the requirements of subparagraphs (a) and (b) as set
forth immediately above.

As proof of compliance with the Commission’s three insurance coverage requirements as
described above, Applicant has filed, or will soon file, a “certificate of insurance,” issued by
Applicant’s insurance company, with the Office of the Chief Clerk. All insurance documents
submitted should be clearly marked/stamped “CONFIDENTIAL”, by the Applicant or the
Applicant’s insurance company, prior to providing such information to the Commission.

() Applicant will permit only persons possessing a valid driver’s license to operate the
motor vehicles that will be used for transporting household goods in compliance with the laws of the
State of North Carolina.



() The following information will be provided to the Office of the Chief Clerk for each
principal [see Item 1 above for definition of principall:

(a) A completed Fingerprint Card with fingerprints that have been taken and imprinted by a
law enforcement agency such as a local police department, sheriff's office, or city/county
bureau of identification. Fingerprint Cards are to be enclosed unfolded in a separate
envelope — do not fold Fingerprint Cards. The Applicant’s name and address and the
words “FINGERPRINT CARDS” should be typed or printed on the front of the envelope and
the front of the envelope should be clearly marked/stamped “CONFIDENTIAL”.

(b) A completed “Authority for Release of Information” form signed by principal consenting
to use of his or her fingerprints for a criminal history records check. The “Authority for
Release of Information” form is included in this Application packet as Exhibit D. The form
may be copied as needed.

(c) A money order or cashier’s check in the amount due for criminal history records checks
($38.00 per principal), made payable to the “North Carolina Department of
Commerce/Utilities Commission,” to cover the Commission’s direct cost of obtaining a
criminal history records check. Money orders and cashier's checks received by the
Commission are nonrefundable.

Principals’ Fingerprint Cards and “Authority for Release of Information” forms will be treated in
a “CONFIDENTIAL” manner upon receipt. The Commission will use the Fingerprint Cards
and the “Authority for Release of Information” forms to obtain criminal history records checks
from the State and National Repositories of Criminal Histories through the North Carolina
Department of Justice.

Pursuant to North Carolina Department of Justice regulations, the Commission is prohibited, in
large measure, from providing a hard copy of the results of a criminal history records check to
any company principal. See Page 12, Paragraph 3(f)(3) of the Instructions for further
information in this regard.

An Applicant will not automatically be denied a certificate of exemption solely on the
basis of past criminal activity. The Commission will review and evaluate the information
in the criminal record to determine if it is relevant to, or would call into question, the
Applicant’s fitness to possess a certificate of exemption.

() Applicant’s principals [see Item 1 above for definition of principal] are either United
States citizens or non-United States citizens. The names and titles of the principals who are United
States citizens are as follows:




The names and titles of the principals, who are non-United States citizens, with employment
authorization documents demonstrating legal authority to work within the United States, are as
follows:

NOTE: Applicant principals who are not United States citizens must provide employment
authorization documents demonstrating legal authority to work within the United States. Employment
authorization documents should be marked/stamped as “CONFIDENTIAL” and sent to the Office of
the Chief Clerk.

4. That there is attached to and made a part of this Application:

(a) Exhibit A, which is a statement of the approximate cost of the property of all kinds
(including vehicles, pads, dollies, hand trucks, etc.) which the Applicant proposes to use in
the transportation of household goods, including a list of the locations at which the
Applicant proposes to establish and maintain terminals, if any, and a list of the year, make,
body type, and GVW of the motor vehicles the Applicant proposes to use in the business.

(b) Exhibit B, which is a current balance sheet showing in detail the Applicant's assets,
liabilities, and net worth. In lieu of the foregoing, a separate balance sheet with the same
information may be attached.

(c) Exhibit C, which details the Applicant's experience in the moving industry.

(d) Exhibit D, which is the “Authority for Release of Information” form. A separate Exhibit D
must be completed and submitted for each principal. Exhibit D may be copied as needed.




APPLICANT’S ATTORNEY:

Printed Name of Applicant’s Attorney:

Signature of Applicant’s Attorney:

Date of Signature of Applicant’s Attorney:

Address of Applicant’s Attorney:

Email:

NOTE: APPLICATIONS FILED ON BEHALF OF A CORPORATION, AN ASSOCIATION, OR AN
LLC SHALL BE FILED BY AN ATTORNEY LICENSED TO PRACTICE IN THE STATE OF NORTH
CAROLINA IN ACCORDANCE WITH RULE R1-5 OF THE COMMISSION’S RULES AND
REGULATIONS.



VERIFICATION UNDER OATH
REGARDING THE ACCURACY OF THE INFORMATION PROVIDED

Under the penalty of perjury,

l, (Printed Name), the affiant,
am an Applicant, Sole Proprietor, Principal, Partner, or Member with respect to the above-referenced
company and | state and attest that the information on this Application and the attached information is
filed on my behalf and all of the information provided on this Application and attached is true, correct,
and complete; and that copies of any documents presented to the Commission as part of this
information are genuine. This certification is made under oath and under penalty of perjury. To the
best of my knowledge, information, and belief, all of the information contained herein and attached is
accurate and true, no material information or fact has been knowingly omitted or misstated. (Note:
Providing false information to the Commission is punishable by fine and/or imprisonment pursuant to
N.C.G.S. 62-310 and N.C.G.S. 62-326.)

Signature of Person Making Verification (Affiant) Date Signed

Title of Person Making Verification (Affiant)

Subscribed and sworn before me this the day of , 20

Notary Public

My Commission EXxpires:




EXHIBIT A
<4PROPERTY, EQUIPMENT, AND VEHICLES»

The approximate cost or present value of the property/equipment/vehicles of all kinds to be
used in the operation is $

Applicant proposes to establish and maintain terminals at the following location(s):

The vehicles to be used in the operation are listed below.

YEAR MAKE BODY TYPE GVW




EXHIBIT B
< ASSETS, LIABILITIES, AND NET WORTH»
NOTE: If Applicant is a sole proprietorship or partnership, the financial information provided below
should be that of the proprietorship or partnership. If Applicant is a corporate entity (i.e., a

corporation or LLC) the financial information provided should be that of the corporate entity.

Applicant's assets, liabilities, and net worth are as follows:

ASSETS LIABILITIES
Real Estate $ Liens of Real Estate  $
Vehicle Equipment Liens on All Equipment
Other Equipment Other Outstanding Loans
Cash on Hand Judgments
Cash in Bank Other Liabilities
Other Assets
TOTAL ASSETS $ TOTAL LIABILITIES $

NET WORTH (Total Assets — Total Liabilities) $

EXHIBIT C
<APPLICANT’S EXPERIENCE >

Please explain the Applicant’s experience with respect to the transportation of household
goods, including the number of years of experience acquired. For example, please indicate whether
you have supervised crews, prepared estimates, loaded and unloaded trucks, and/or prepared bills of
lading.




> CONFIDENTIAL «

EXHIBIT D

AUTHORITY FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION

| authorize the North Carolina Department of Justice through the STATE BUREAU OF INVESTIGATION,
Special Operations Division, to perform a fingerprint search of the State’s criminal history record file and a
fingerprint search of the FEDERAL BUREAU OF INVESTIGATION'’S files for a national criminal history record
check in connection with my Application for certification as a household goods mover with the NORTH
CAROLINA UTILITIES COMMISSION pursuant to N.C.G.S. 114-19.32 (2012 N.C. Sess. Laws, c.9, s.2).

(Type or Print clearly)

Last Name First Middle Maiden
Social Security Number Date of Birth Sex Race
(Optional*)

I understand that the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation, Special Operations Division, and its officials
and employees shall not be held legally accountable in any way for providing this information to the above
named agency, and | hereby release said agency and persons from any and all liability which may be incurred
as a result of furnishing such information. | further understand that the agency cannot provide a hard copy of
the results of the state criminal history record to me and that the agency may not provide the national criminal
history record to me unless it is used to disqualify me from certification.

*Disclosure of social security number is entirely voluntary and not required. If disclosed, the social security
number will be utilized to assist with accurate identification/exclusion of possible criminal history records.

Applicant’'s/Employee’s Signature

Date

This form must be maintained on file with the above named agency for one year. Do not mail this form or a
copy of this form to the State Bureau of Investigation.




APPENDIX

<INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION AND
SUBMISSION OF AN APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION»

(READ CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION)

The original and two copies of the “Application for Certificate of Exemption to Transport Household
Goods” are to be submitted/mailed to:

Office of the Chief Clerk

North Carolina Utilities Commission
4325 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4300

1. By Order dated February 22, 2002, in Docket No. T-100, Sub 49, the Commission
exempted from regulation the transportation of household goods; and, instead, implemented a
requirement that persons, before engaging in such business activity, first obtain a certificate of
exemption from the Commission. The February 22, 2002 Order also set forth the procedure that
applicants must follow to obtain a certificate of exemption, as well as the terms and conditions that
must be met. By Order dated August 29, 2008, in Docket No. T-100, Sub 69, the Commission
implemented certain additional terms and conditions. The information requested in the Application for
Certificate of Exemption (Application) is intended to provide the Commission with the basic
information it needs to assess whether the Applicant has met and/or meets the Commission’s
requirements and, consequently, whether the Application should be granted.

2. The Docket No., as provided for on the front page of the Application, will be assigned by
the Office of the Chief Clerk at the time of filing. In the event that your Application is found to be
incomplete as submitted, you will be notified accordingly; and you will have 120 days from the date
your Application is received in the Office of the Chief Clerk to complete it, including submission of all
required supporting documentation. There is no Application fee. However, as explained below, there
is a $38.00 charge for each company principal for a criminal history records check. [Company
principals are: the sole proprietor for a sole proprietorship; partners for a partnership; directors and
officers for a corporation; or member-managers and nonmember-managers for an LLC.]

Please call 919-733-4036 if you should have any questions concerning the Application or
related matters.

The Application is to be typed or printed legibly in ink (no pencil). If you are an individual
planning to provide service under a trade name, the Applicant’s full name should first appear followed
by the trade name, for example: “John Franklin Smith, d/b/a Smith Moving Company.” Partnerships
must include all partners' full names followed by “d/b/a” and then the “trade name.” If the Applicant is
a corporation or LLC, please complete the Application using the exact same name as that appearing
on your corporate charter, as issued by the Office of the Secretary of State.
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3. Paragraph 3 of the Application lists the terms and conditions with which the Applicant
must comply before being issued a certificate of exemption. As indicated, the Applicant must:

(a) Be fit, willing, and able to provide the transportation of household goods.
(b) Have the necessary safe and well maintained equipment.
(c) Be financially solvent in order to maintain the business.

(d) Have adequate knowledge of the moving industry and statutes, rules and regulations
pertaining to the movement of household goods, including safety and tariff requirements.

(e) Allow only persons possessing a valid driver's license to operate the motor vehicles
used for transporting household goods.

(f) Provide to the Commission, for each company principal:

(1) A completed Fingerprint Card with fingerprints that have been taken and
imprinted by a law enforcement agency such as a local police department, sheriff's
office, or city/county bureau of identification. Fingerprint Cards are to be enclosed
unfolded in a separate envelope — do not fold Fingerprint Cards. The Applicant’'s name
and address and the words “FINGERPRINT CARDS” should be typed or printed on the
front of the envelope and the front of the envelope should be clearly marked/stamped
“CONFIDENTIAL”.

The envelope containing the Fingerprint Cards should then be submitted along with the
Application, in addition to any other documentation that may be required, for example,
proof of legal authority to work in the United States, if Applicant principal is not a United
States citizen. However, if circumstances should require that a Fingerprint Card be
submitted/mailed separately, then the envelope containing the Fingerprint Card should
be placed unfolded inside of the envelope addressed to the Commission.

(2) A completed “Authority for Release of Information” form signed by principal
consenting to use of fingerprints for a criminal history records check. The “Authority for
Release of Information” form is included in the Application packet as Exhibit D. The
form may be copied as needed.

(3) A money order or cashier's check in the amount due for criminal history records
checks ($38.00 per principal), made payable to the “North Carolina Department of
Commerce/Utilities Commission,” to cover the Commission’s direct cost of obtaining a
criminal history records check. Money orders and cashier's checks received by the
Commission are nonrefundable.

Principals’ Fingerprint Cards and “Authority for Release of Information” forms will be
treated in a “CONFIDENTIAL” manner upon receipt. The Commission will use the
Fingerprint Cards and the “Authority for Release of Information” forms to obtain criminal
history records checks from the State and National Repositories of Criminal Histories
through the North Carolina Department of Justice.
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Pursuant to North Carolina Department of Justice regulations, the Commission may not
provide a copy of the state criminal history record to the individual. Any individual
wishing to review, correct, complete, or otherwise challenge his/her state criminal
history record must avail themselves of the procedures set forth in the Division of
Criminal Information (DCI) portion of the North Carolina Administrative Code (12NCAC
04F.0404).

The Commission may provide a copy of the national criminal history record to the
individual, if the results of the national record check were used to disqualify the
individual from certification.

An Applicant will not automatically be denied a certificate of exemption solely on
the basis of past criminal activity. The Commission will review and evaluate the
information in the criminal record to determine if it is relevant to, or would call
into question, the Applicant’s fitness to possess a certificate of exemption.

(g) For each company principal, certify to the Commission that principal is a United States
citizen or, if not a citizen, provide employment authorization documents as proof of principal’s
legal authority to work within the United States.

4. Applicant is required to have on file, or will soon file, with the North Carolina Division of
Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or the Commission) proof of the following minimum limits of liability and cargo
insurance coverage:

(a) Liability insurance coverage — Form E: $100,000/$300,000/$50,000 for Gross Vehicle
Weight (GVW) of 26,000 Ibs. or less and $750,000 for GVW of more than 26,000 Ibs.

(b) Cargo insurance coverage — Form H: $35,000/$50,000 — i.e., $35,000 for loss of or
damage to household goods carried on any one motor vehicle and $50,000 for loss of or
damage to household goods occurring at any one time and place.

If Forms E and H are not on file with the DMV, Applicant must provide such forms to the Office
of the Chief Clerk.

In addition to the foregoing, Applicant must also maintain general liability insurance coverage
in an amount not less than $50,000 to compensate for loss or damage to property of shipper or
consignee.

A “certificate of insurance,” issued by Applicant’s insurance company, must be provided to the
Commission as proof of compliance with the Commission’s three insurance coverage
requirements, as described above. The “certificate of insurance” and Forms E and H — if such
forms are not on file with the DMV, may be mailed, with the completed Application or separately,
to the above address. They may also be faxed (919-733-7300) or emailed (OCC@ncuc.net) to
the Office of the Chief Clerk, by either the Applicant or the Applicant’s insurance company.
Insurance documents should be clearly marked/stamped “CONFIDENTIAL” by the Applicant or
the Applicant’s insurance company prior to providing such information to the Office of the Chief
Clerk.
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Submission of the foregoing insurance documents is not reqguired as part of the initial
Application process. However, they must be filed prior to the Application being granted.
INSURANCE FILINGS AND THE APPLICATION MUST BE IN EXACTLY THE SAME
LEGAL NAME OF THE BUSINESS.

5. All parts of the Application must be completed and signed by the Applicant on Page 6 or
the Application will be returned. Such signature must be notarized.

6. All Applications for certificates of exemption will be available for review on the
Commission's website (www.ncuc.net); except for the pages and/or sections marked/stamped
“CONFIDENTIAL”, which will not be available for review. Any party desiring to protest an Application
must do so in writing and file same with the Office of the Chief Clerk no later than 15 days from the
date the Application is filed. A protest must clearly state the basis of the complaint. A copy of the
protest must also be mailed to the Applicant on the same day that it is filed with the Office of the Chief
Clerk.

If no protests are received, the certificate of exemption will be issued upon the Applicant's
having complied with all terms and conditions as discussed herein and as set forth in the Application.
However, if one or more protests are filed, the Application will be scheduled for public hearing.
Additionally, if the Commission should have any question or concern with regard to the Application,
the Commission may request additional information or schedule a public hearing to afford the
Applicant an opportunity to be heard, before taking any further action on the Application.

7. Following the receipt and processing of an appropriately completed Application and the
Commission’s having determined that the Applicant has complied with all Commission requirements,
as set forth in the Application and/or as discussed herein, and provided (a) that no protests are filed
or, if filed, are not sustained by the Commission and (b) that the Applicant’s criminal history does not
preclude approval, an Order will be issued approving the Applicant’s request for a certificate of
exemption (Order); and the Applicant, by such Order, will be authorized to transport household goods
between all points and places within North Carolina. Within a few days following issuance of the
Order, a certificate of exemption will be issued, which will include a certificate number (C-#). Such
number will have been assigned and set forth in the Order. The C-# must be included in all forms of
advertising. [Under N.C.G.S. 62.280.1, it is unlawful for a person not issued a certificate of exemption
to represent or imply that the person holds a certificate of exemption or is otherwise authorized to
operate as a carrier of household goods in the State of North Carolina.]

Additionally, the Applicant will receive a copy of the Maximum Rate Tariff (MRT), which defines
operating procedures as well as the maximum charges for all intrastate moves and related services.
All household goods movers (movers) are required to abide by the provisions of the MRT. All
movers are required to attend a Commission-sponsored MRT training seminar (Seminar) prior to or
within three months of the issuance date of the Order approving the Application for a Certificate of
Exemption. The schedule for upcoming Seminars is posted on the Commission’s website. However,
for information regarding Seminar schedules or other mover-related matters, you may contact the
Commission at 919-733-4036 or the Public Staff —North Carolina Utilities Commission at
919-733-7766.

NOTE: APPLICATIONS FILED ON BEHALF OF A CORPORATION, AN ASSOCIATION, OR AN
LLC SHALL BE FILED BY AN ATTORNEY LICENSED TO PRACTICE IN THE STATE OF
NORTH CAROLINA IN ACCORDANCE WITH RULE R1-5 OF THE COMMISSION RULES AND
REGULATIONS.
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