Staff Directory

Directory of all State Employees

Name Title Phone
Commissioner Suite   919-733-4249
Charlotte A. Mitchell Chair
Kimberly W. Duffley Commissioner
Jeffrey A. Hughes Commissioner
Floyd B. McKissick Jr. Commissioner
Karen M. Kemerait Commissioner
William M. Brawley Commissioner
Tommy Tucker Commissioner
Brandi McMillen Assistant to Chair Mitchell
Vacant Assistant to Commissioner Hughes, Brawley, Tucker
Maribel Lazo Assistant to Commissioners Duffley, Kemerait, McKissick

The Clerk’s Office reviews incoming filings, ensures that they meet any filing requirements, categorizes them, and posts them on our website. It also issues the Commission’s orders. The IT Section oversees the operation of the Commission’s computer hardware and applications, including this website, the docket system and email.

Name Title Phone
Chief Clerks Office   919-733-7328
Shonta Dunston Chief Clerk
Taylor Berry Deputy Clerk
Tamika Conyers Deputy Clerk
Casey Cooke Program Coordinator
Lakisha Grant Program Coordinator
Kathleen Hall Program Coordinator
Monika Miller Program Coordinator
Stephanie Thompson Program Coordinator
Information Technology   919-733-7328
Lisa Needham Chief Information Officer
Hubert Hardy User Support Analyst
John McCoy Audiovisual Technician
John Morales Applications Analyst
Sean Warren Systems Administrator & Security Liaison

The Fiscal Management Division processes the fees required to be paid by the regulated utilities to support the work of the Commission. It also manages the Commission’s budget.

Name Title Phone
Fiscal Management   919-733-7680
Sacajawea Gray Director
Joyce Gwyn Administrative Officer
Sarah Cushnie Administrative Specialist
Terreca Ettson Accounting Tech.
Joann Snyder Accounting Tech.
Regina Williams Accounting Tech.
Name Title Phone
Beverly Blue Human Resource Officer 919-733-0850
Denise Roberts Human Resource Consultant

The Legal Division provides legal advice to the Commissioners and Commission employees. It also assists the Commission with scheduling hearings and preparing orders.

Name Title Phone
Sam Watson General Counsel & Director 919-715-7057
Heather Fennell Deputy General Counsel & Assistant Director 919-715-9006
Le Anne Ackerman Assistant 919-733-0837
Jill Franke Paralegal 919-819-6573
Stacy Olive Paralegal
Pat Swenson Paralegal 919-733-2794
Erin Duffy Attorney 919-733-0835
Jennifer Harrod Attorney 919-715-1092
Warren Hicks Attorney 919-268-7436
Lynn Jarvis Attorney 919-715-0578
Kim Murrell Attorney 919-733-0836
Melissa Walker Attorney 919-733-0834
Monica Webb-Shackleford Attorney 919-733-0833
Barbara Myers Librarian 919-715-5975
Court Reporters    
Kim Mitchell Hearings and Court Reporting Manager 919-715-5993
Kaylene Clayton Court Reporter
Julie Kennedy Program Coordinator

The Operations Division consists of accountants, engineers, and other utility experts who review utility filings and assist in preparing Commission orders. The pipeline safety engineers inspect the records and practices of pipeline facilities owners to assure compliance with federal safety requirements.

For assistance regarding the various industries/sectors, please click the appropriate links below:

Industry/Sector Contact
Electric (General) Nathan Barber
Electric (Operations) Aditya Keskar
Telecommunications Nathan Barber
Natural Gas Poornima Jayasheela
Water/Wastewater Vacant
Water/Wastewater Resale Janice Fulmore
Transportation Nick Jeffries
Pipeline Safety Felicia Holder

Staff Directory:

Name Title Phone
Freda Hilburn Director 919-733-0847
Vacant Assistant Director 919-715-4006
Heather Robinson Assistant 919-733-0626
Felicia Holder Assistant 919-733-0838
Rates and Regulatory Planning and Analysis Section    
Poornima Jayasheela Program Manager II 919-733-9563
Aditya Keskar Engineer III 919-733-0839
Vacant Engineer II
Jenny Li Financial Analyst II 919-733-0854
Vacant Financial Analyst II
Vacant Financial Analyst II
Nathan Barber Program Manager II 919-733-0848
Jonathan Barley Public Utilities Regulatory Analyst II 919-733-0853
Vacant Public Utilities Regulatory Analyst I 919-733-2924
Janice Fulmore Program Coordinator II 919-715-0917
Nick Jefferies Transportation Utilities Reg. Director 919-733-4036
Ann Winstead Public Utilities Regulatory Analyst I 919-733-0849
Pipeline Safety    
Steve Wood Gas Pipeline Safety Manager 919-733-6000
Harry Bryant Pipeline Safety Engineer 919-733-6000
Matthew Dillehay Pipeline Safety Engineer 919-733-6000
Ryan Duffy Pipeline Safety Engineer 919-733-6000
Michelle Flowers Pipeline Safety Engineer 919-733-6000
Hilary King Pipeline Safety Engineer 919-733-6000
Name Phone
Commissioners 919-715-5970
Fiscal Mgmt. 919-733-1585
Chief Clerk's Office 919-733-7300
Legal & Administration 919-715-2166
Operations 919-733-1585


Social Media